The IBMA Foundation makes it possible for individuals and organizations to support the future of bluegrass music through charitable donations and planned giving.

Join us on FaceBook

Our Patrons

We are so grateful for the support of our patrons. Click here to see the list of our generous donors. 

Our two types of Grants

Annual Bluegrass Foundation grants- (up to $2000 each) are designed to assist programs that align with the goals of the Foundation. The deadline to apply: December 1. 


Bluegrass in the Schools Mini Grants- Schools or other groups organizing "Bluegrass in the Schools" assemblies should apply for a Mini Grant instead. (generally $300 per school assembly)


To download the appropriate forms for these two types of grants, click on the "Grant" tab at the top of our Home Page.

The Work of the Foundation

The Foundation for Bluegrass Music is proud to have donated to these worthwhile programs:


Annual Grant Winners:







and many Mini Grants (Bluegrass performances for kids)


About Us

The IBMA Foundation
connects passion with purpose and is a means for people and organizations to support the future of bluegrass music through charitable donations and planned giving.

We help donors and their families meet their charitable goals by connecting them with programs and initiatives that serve their interests. By connecting donors, nonprofits, bluegrass leaders and other partners…we help make philanthropy happen.

Options include gifts that support bluegrass music-related arts and culture, education, literary work, historic preservation and other efforts of public benefit.

The IBMA Foundation’s board is a diverse group of bluegrass and business community leaders
and is responsible for all grant allocations made from the Foundation’s funds and provides overall direction and policy.

Fred Bartenstein; Fred Bartenstein & Associates, University of Dayton – Chairperson/President
Alan Tompkins, Bluegrass Heritage Foundation – Vice Chairperson
Ruth McLain; McLain Family Band, Morehead State Univ. – Secretary
Wendy Tyner, Wintergrass/Acoustic Sound – Treasurer
Peter Salovey, Yale University – Board Member
Tim Stafford, Blue Highway – Board Member
Peter D’Addario, St. Louis Cardinals – Board Member

Tom Kopp, Ph.D.; professor emeritus Miami Univ., Earl Scruggs Center Advisory Board – Board Member
Sam Blumenthal, The Blumenthal Foundation – Board Member

Nancy Cardwell,
Ex-officio member: Paul Schiminger, IBMA Exec. Dir.
Mark Panfil- Past Chairman/Web administrator