The Rosenberg Bluegrass Scholar Award annually recognizes the best bluegrass-related paper accepted by a juried academic conference during the year. “Developing academic scholars” eligible for this award are defined as graduate students in MA or PhD programs and recent PhDs (within five years of degree completion). The award’s name honors Bluegrass Hall of Fame member Neil V. Rosenberg, PhD, a noted bluegrass author and historian.

The deadline to be considered for the Rosenberg Bluegrass Scholarship Award from the IBMA Foundation is Tuesday, June 30, 2021. The objective of this award is to grow the academic awareness of bluegrass music by encouraging developing academic scholars to present research of high quality to fellow scholars on any aspect of the genre. The recipient of the Rosenberg Bluegrass Scholar Award, to be announced in early August, will receive a $500 honorarium plus admission to the next IBMA Business Conference and Awards Show.

The first “IBMA Academic Prize” (as it was then known) was presented in 2011 to Benjamin Krakauer, who teaches now on the faculty of Warren Wilson College. The IBMA Foundation took responsibility for the award in 2018, renaming it in honor of Neil Rosenberg. The 2019 recipient was Jordan Laney, PhD, at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Virginia. The Rosenberg Scholar Award was not made in 2020, due to the cancellation of academic conferences nationwide last spring.

Entries may be emailed to review committee chair Dr. Travis Stimeling at, or mailed to him at 142 Ridgeley Road, Morgantown, WV 26505, USA. For more information, please contact Dr. Stimeling directly or

RETURN to the April 2021 issue of The Cornerstone.