The Neil Rosenberg Bluegrass Scholar Award

DEADLINE to apply: June 30

The Neil Rosenberg Bluegrass Scholar Award is an annual cash award, presented to the developing academic scholar who presents the best paper accepted by a juried academic conference on an aspect of bluegrass music. The recipient will receive a $500 honorarium plus admission to the next IBMA Business Conference and Awards Show. Read about the 2021 recipient here. 

“Developing academic scholars” eligible for this award are defined as graduate students in MA or PhD programs and recent PhDs (within five years of degree completion). The committee tasked with overseeing the  Rosenberg Bluegrass Scholarship Award process is headed by Travis Stimeling (West Virginia University), Kristine McCusker (Middle Tennessee State University) and Tim Stafford (East Tennessee State University/Blue Highway).

The “IBMA Academic Prize” (as it was then known) was presented in 2011 to Benjamin Krakauer, who teaches now on the faculty of Warren Wilson College. The IBMA Foundation took responsibility for the award in 2018, re-naming it in honor of renowned bluegrass music historian, author and Bluegrass Hall of Fame member Neil Rosenberg. Recipients of the Rosenberg Bluegrass Scholar Award are pictured below.   

Our gratitude is extended to Mary Tyler Doub, who sponsored the Rosenberg Award in 2019, and to The John Hartford Family, who sponsored the award in 2021.

For more information, please email the IBMA Foundation through the form below, or contact Dr. Stimeling directly at Entries may be emailed to Dr. Stimeling or mailed to him at 142 Ridgeley Road, Morgantown, WV 26505, USA. The annual deadline to apply is June 30.

Previous Recipients

Benjamin Krakauer, PhD – 2011 (Assistant Professor, Warren Wilson College) Faculty link here. Read the 2018 article based on the 2011 paper here. 

Jordan Laney, PhD – 2019 (PhD in Cultural and Social Theory from Virginia Tech) 2019 sponsor: Mary Tyler Doub

Heather Grimm – 2021 (PhD candidate in interdisciplinary theatre/drama department at Northwestern University) 2021 sponsor: The John Hartford Family


Gabby Cameron – 2022 (MA Ethnomusicology student at the University of Maryland), 2021 sponsor: Laurie Greenburg. Read Gabby’s paper HERE.

Get in touch.

Questions? Comments? Please use the form below to get in touch with us.

The IBMA Foundation
1183 University Drive #105-215
Burlington, NC 27215